2013: The year I get serious about #resolutions

As with many of my adventures, New Year’s Eve was spent in Boston with my partner-in-crime, Kaitlyn. Kaitlyn, who lives very conveniently in one of my most favorite areas of the city, was very gracious in hosting a spectacular soiree complete with cocktails, champagne, hors d’oeuvres and festive decorations.

Celebrating First Night in my favorite city!
Celebrating First Night in my favorite city!

One of the most vivid memories from my NYE was seeing a small list flash on the television screen of the most popular resolutions; drink less alcohol, eat healthy food, get a better job… I remember panicking at the thought that I hadn’t set any of my resolutions and stared guiltily into my party cup filled with a homemade Whiskey Sour. I thought, “Maybe I’ll really dedicate time to getting myself in shape this year,” half-knowing that’s always a project reserved for late April and survives until mid-September.

I wouldn't call it a resolution but I'd really love to get back into ballet this year.
I wouldn’t call it a resolution but I’d really love to get back into ballet this year.

I really do need to be better about saving money, especially where I’m currently without employment. The thing about me is, that my life is very “Girls” and the financial side of me is 100% Shoshanna…or Carrie Bradshaw. I really do like my money where I can see it. Hanging in my closet…or in my hand with a little pink umbrella poking out of it. As a twenty-something city girl, life is very expensive. Student loans, cell phone bills and the necessary monetary investment it takes to nurture relationships with friends by frequenting lounges and pubs. (If friendship is free then why am I constantly broke?!)

Choosing healthy alternatives, like homemade cranberry sauce, is a great way to tackle those diet resolutions!
Choosing healthy alternatives, like homemade cranberry sauce, is a great way to tackle those diet resolutions!

Perhaps it is all this thinking and the pressure to have a plan that I could do without. After all, “manage stress better” is a popular pact some people make with themselves this time of the year. I’ve often said that I am my own worst critic so perhaps I’m coming down too hard on myself with this one. I think that maybe if we all just took life less seriously, maybe didn’t focus on quitting smoking or saving money for one day and just enjoyed life, that we’d be a thousand times happier. Bettering yourself isn’t a 24 hour turnaround anyway. It takes weeks of patience, setbacks, and bravery to accomplish goals.

Rewarding yourself with treats for reaching resolution milestones is great positive reinforcement!
Rewarding yourself with treats for reaching resolution milestones is great positive reinforcement!

So there it is, my resolution is to just enjoy life, to live in the moment, to do what makes me the most happy. (And blog about it a bit more regularly!)

Did you resolve to drink more water? Try my trick: Hot water with lemon and honey. Cozy, sweet and very hydrating!
Did you resolve to drink more water? Try my trick: Hot water with lemon and honey. Cozy, sweet and very hydrating!

May you have a happy and healthy New Year!

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

5 thoughts on “2013: The year I get serious about #resolutions”

Leave a Reply

