“Life is like photography…”

So far, the first month of 2013 has been quite the adventure. What began quite literally as a party has taken off and become a fast paced learning experience. From party hats to hats and mittens, I have been in and out of the city with friends, lots of tea and adventures off and on the unemployment line. That’s right folks, I finally got a job.

"Pinteresting" decoration idea.
Pinteresting” decoration idea.

I’m sure it comes as no surprise to some of you that I’ve gone back to being a political operative. This means I’m back to my irregular eating schedule, Instagramming things I love when I love them (which is usually right away) and rubbing elbows with lots of pretty cool people. In the last month I’ve attended Senator Elizabeth Warren‘s Ceremonial Swearing-In at Roxbury Community College, visited with my friends Kaitlyn and Will and happily concluded my wallowing as a “stay at home daughter”.

Wishing you a happy 2013 thus far!
Wishing you a happy 2013 thus far!

This month also brought seeing my sister off to her semester abroad in Spain after eating a very tasty “last supper” of sorts), my short stint as a boutique salesgirl/ stylist and finally visiting a local watering hole for the strongest Scorpio Bowl I’ve ever had in my life. I’ve learned to balance this roller coaster of events with some homemade coffee drinks, a men’s white shirt (paired with a red A-line skirt and cinched with a thin patent belt of course!) and plenty of sweet somethings.

Because sometimes you need to spice up your life and have pancakes for dinner...
Because sometimes you need to spice up your life and have pancakes for dinner…

Speaking of sweet somethings, I want to take this opportunity to reiterate my general love for the North End. Of course the ristorante‘s are quaint, the parks are adorable and the roof decks are seasonally enjoyable but the part I love the most is that no matter the mood or the season, a little treat from one of the bakeries is the perfect ending to any day. My personal favorite, Modern Pastry, has the best cannolis, crème brûlée and other desserts if you’re looking for something to snack on or share. That plug aside, it always feels like you’re doing something special when you’re just steps from some of the most historic parts of the city.

Completely taken by this picture that was released this month. There is nothing more renewing than young love.
Completely taken by this picture that was released this month. There is nothing more renewing than young love.

I have a feeling that 2013 has a lot in store (and I don’t just mean more frigid weather). I anticipate living vicariously through my sister’s adventures in Seville, enjoying this sense of inner peace I seem to have acquired and getting to make the most of this new professional adventure.

As a self-proclaimed city girl, I know it might take an embarrassing amount of late night food, more snow boot-less trudging around in the snow and taking a wrong turn once or twice but I’m ready. After all…

“…we develop from the negatives.”

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

2 thoughts on ““Life is like photography…””

Leave a Reply

