I like scallops, bacon and asparagus. Almost as much as I love my friends Kaitlyn and William...

You Might Be A Hipster If… (& Other Observations)

This post is brought to you by the coffee mug I need to have.
This post is brought to you by the coffee mug I need to have.

If you panic over which filter is best to use on Instagram, you tweet your culinary masterpieces and re-blog quips that inspire you in one way or another, you might be a hipster. Or, in the case that you also like to document major moments in your life (and I’m not talking about that amazing soup recipe you just whipped up), outfits you’ve sported especially well and other occurrences worth noting, you might just like taking pictures of things that mean a lot to you. Like many of you, I start to get a little stir crazy when I’ve been cooped up in the house for too long and as of late my social calendar has been reduced to watching The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel with my parents (which really isn’t a bad little movie if you give it time)…

I like scallops, bacon and asparagus. Almost as much as I love my friends Kaitlyn and William...
I like scallops, bacon and asparagus. Almost as much as I love my friends Kaitlyn and William…

Usually I like pretending my life is a semi-suburban reflection of HBO’s GIRLS but thanks to winter storm Nemo, I have traded in my ballet flats for slipper socks. Yesterday was actually productive; I made dozens of phone calls, sent quite a few e-mails and corresponded with people from the office regularly. Despite the fact that I was working from my bed, you’d never even know the difference. However, in between that time of all the emails and updating of spreadsheets, I came to realize how truly lucky I am for my job, my circumstances and my seemingly endless supply of Haribo gummy bears.

Because dogs with their learner's permits are always funny.
Because dogs with their learner’s permits are always funny.

I think I often forget about the little things. I mean, I’m known to be overly sentimental (something that drives my sister crazy)  but I’ve found that as I’ve gotten older there are more and more things that occupy the time I used to spend appreciating the things that meant the most to me. Snow days, home cooked meals and fashion are novelties to me, even though I clearly adore everything about my usual day-to-day. I just feel generally lucky for all the things I have and glad it only took a few days (make-up free) to realize that.

Being grateful is like soup; it warms you inside and out.
Being grateful is like soup; it warms you inside and out.

For those who know me, you know that smiling and laughing are my favorite things to do and anything that doesn’t allow for that doesn’t make it on my agenda. I prefer to be wearing bracelets and believe that blazers are the simplest and most sophisticated things you can own. Among other things, I enjoy blogging and wish I could do it more because I love inspiring people in any way that I can, even if its just sartorially. Its not about what you do, it about how you do it and I prefer to do things happily.

I like purple and lace and the pretty things in life. Which is to say, everything.
I like purple and lace and the pretty things in life. Which is to say, everything.

Tomorrow, I will inevitably return to work, which is great because I truly enjoy getting up in the morning, pouring about a half of an inch of International Delight creamer into a mug followed by another three or so inches of freshly brewed Cafe do Brasil and driving into Charlestown. I like getting stuck in traffic somewhere around Wellesley Hills, blasting songs like Megan and Liz’s “Bad for Me” and looking to make a difference in an office filled with like-minded people. I love dressing for the job I want because its the one I have and, as I have recently observed, I love just about everything.

14K style.
14K style.

Here’s hoping your days are filled with joy and appreciation, especially as you stay cozy during these very snowy days!

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

One thought on “You Might Be A Hipster If… (& Other Observations)”

Leave a Reply

