Fact Check: Luck is a residual effect of hard work

From 617 to 508: Because sometimes the satellite office is closer to home than you would think.
From 617 to 508: Because sometimes the satellite office is closer to home than you would think.

There are plenty of people in this world that think the number thirteen is unlucky. They make an extra effort to avoid a day where they could normally live their lives to the fullest and instead anxiously await the coming of the following day. In my line of work, it is absolutely crucial to take advantage of every second. I do this by sleeping as little as possible, attempting to shovel my tiny car out of an impossibly long driveway during blizzards in an attempt to drive to the office, and traveling around more of my own home state than I ever knew existed.

True life: I survived Winter Storm Nemo.
True life: I survived Winter Storm Nemo.

I’ve had the pleasure of working in the greatest part of the greatest city in the world, I’ve learned more about myself from long drives across the state, I’ve been a part of some pretty amazing milestones and I’ve never once gotten tired of doing what I do every day. In 8 days, my job will be effectively over and I will be working towards what will hopefully be a strong finish for a cause I have never believed more strongly in. That being said, this journey has not been all about me and I want to take this unique opportunity to recognize the number one reason I love my job: my team.

One of my co-workers in a nutshell.
One of my co-workers in a nutshell. Glad you finally thawed out! 😉

Some of you might say, “I love my co-workers. We’re like a family!”, but unless you’ve worked on a political campaign, I doubt you really know what that’s like. Since January 15th, I have been a part of a team of people who have always had the most determined spirits. They have never stopped inspiring me to work smarter and harder and to be incredibly proud of the things we have been able to achieve together.To the people who have consistently acknowledged me by my pseudonym, appreciated my affinity for fashion in the workplace and tolerated me when I have been punchy and overly caffeinated, I want you to know that I’ve absolutely cherished getting to know you for however long it has been.

Despite the fact that I stopped baking treats for you all on a weekly basis, you still deserve them. Sorry I'm not sorry that we grew to be such a large family!
Despite the fact that I stopped baking treats for you all on a weekly basis, you still deserve them. Sorry I’m not sorry that we grew to be such a large family!

I am going to miss teaching some of you the correct pronunciation of Boston-area colloquialisms, shaking my head in dismay at your hopelessly embarrassing impressions of a Boston accent and of course, your general company, but you should always know that no matter what happens in 8 days, that we will always be joined together by the incredible memories that were made on this journey. A wise man once said that “luck is a residual effect of hard work” and I fully believe that we have and will continue to push ourselves to the finish line with just as much passion as when we started. For the superstitious and politically involved, 2013 might be an anxiety provoking year but thanks to the work of my colleagues, I have a very good feeling that luck is on our side.

You might be a Markey campaign staffer if: You know and love (and kind of miss) this view.
You might be a Markey campaign staffer if: You know and love (and kind of miss) this view.

Whether you organized the candidate, an entire community, or the kitchen when it was becoming a health hazard, the work you have done on this campaign means more to the people of Massachusetts (and the country) than you will ever know. In his inauguration speech (thanks to those of you who organized for that victory), President Obama said, “We are made for this moment, and we will seize it – so long as we seize it together.” Let’s do this guys, let’s seize this moment together.

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

2 thoughts on “Fact Check: Luck is a residual effect of hard work”

Leave a Reply

