Campaign Chic: What I Wore

City Girl Rule 1835: No matter the weather, you should always look and feel your best!
City Girl Rule 1835: No matter the weather, you should always look and feel your best!

Based on my experiences working in an office environment, it seems that there is a misconception that dressing professionally must be conservative and boring. Allow me to educate you: its not true. To prove this, I’ve rounded up some of the best looks I sported on the campaign trail and reasons why they’re a surefire victory!

Maybe being fashionable is similar to "a rub of the green"?
(Me on the far left) Maybe being fashionable is similar to “a rub of the green”?

When it comes to outerwear it can often be function over fashion. In inclement weather, its certainly important to stay warm, especially if you plan to be outside for an extended period of time. I spent many chilly days outside doing activities like marching in parades so it was essential for me to have a jacket or coat (like my khaki trench above from H&M) to be worn over things like thermal tops and sweaters. Additionally, accessories like scarves and sunglasses are equally as important for outdoor activities.

Cardigans and pencil skirts should be your new best friend per my recommendation.
(Me on the right) Cardigans and pencil skirts should be your new best friend per my recommendation. (Photo credit: PM)

LBC: It’s the new closet staple. Wear it with skirts, wear it with pants, wear it with dresses. Just wear it. (For those of you keeping score at home LBC = little black cardigan) As you can see, I wear mine with Women For Markey all-star Attorney General Martha Coakley. Other all-stars in this photo include my nude Aldo pumps (for an elongated leg), my jersey pencil skirt (for long days of professional events and maximum comfort) and my orange top by Michael Stars. (“Orange you say?” Why yes, because the easiest way to shine at the office is to be bright!)

(Me on the left) Winning on all accounts I would say...
(Me on the left) Winning on all accounts I would say… (Photo credit: S. Haass)

Election Night (and similar celebrations) call for more fun fashion choices. While blue is typically my go-to color  on nights such as this, I couldn’t help but take advantage of this summertime event and wore a white tutu-inspired dress from Zara with a sweetheart neckline and cut-out back. For this outfit (and occasion) it was best to accessorize in a simple way (in this photo I am wearing a small pave surrounded ball pendant and faux gold charm bracelet from Juicy Couture).

Purple (and) passion: Last night with my team
Purple (and) passion: Strike a pose! (Photo credit: Diana Bowen)

For my last night out with some of the most amazing and hard-working people I will ever meet in my entire life, I chose to wear an airy purple and black summer dress with a cinched waist and key hole opening. I sported my pavé pendant here too for a gentle sparkle and clearly kept a Jack’s Abby brew close by for some handy spirits. With summer being in full swing, I strapped on my Jeffrey Campbell wedges and felt fabulous on my final night out with my team. (If you’re reading this, I miss you guys already!)

Of all the things I came to realize over these past several months, nothing is more important than feeling your best. Hopefully, with some help from this post, feeling your best in office-friendly wear is a little bit easier. For more style inspiration, stay tuned!

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

One thought on “Campaign Chic: What I Wore”

Leave a Reply

