“My Favorite Things”

I simply remember my favorite things...
I simply remember my favorite things… (A la The Telegraph UK)

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens, bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens,
Brown paper packages tied up with strings…

The red cups have arrived at Starbucks and Boston has seen it’s first snowflakes. So begins the transition from autumn to the holiday season in the city. I’m a sucker for this time of year mostly because I love layering on cozy sweaters, cups of coffee by the fire and bundling up to adventure out in the cold. Keep reading to find out what else I love about this time of the year!

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple streudels...
Cream colored ponies and crisp apple streudels…

It is true that I love coffee at all times of the year, but a warm cup of Joe is especially cozy after a day out in the cold. After trying some new flavors of creamer by Nestle Coffee-Mate last week at StyleFixx, I can’t wait to try some of their coffee drink recipes this year!

Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodle...
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodle…

Another great way to enjoy drinks is to enjoy a bit of bubbly or beer with friends. Being from Boston, I can appreciate more low-key festivities enjoying any one of the seasonal sports games that will be a source of joy for many over the next few months. I’m especially excited that my favorite team, the Boston Celtics, are in first place right now and I can think of no better way to enjoy their streak than on the couch with some friends, my little brother or my Dad, and my favorite green-bottled beverage.

Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings...
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings…

I’m not the kind of girl who says no to brunch…ever. I’m a firm believer that a good breakfast is the perfect way to start your day, even if you started it by sleeping in a little bit. Who can blame you after a day on the slopes, figure skating on Frog Pond or ducking in and out of shops on Newbury St. And don’t forget to wash down your omelette somewhere that serves up a delicious Mimosas or Bellinis!

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes...
Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes…

As the holidays approach, more and more friends will make their return to Massachusetts for reunions over pints of Guinness, outlet shopping and needing a “plus one” for that extra Bruins ticket they got for a holiday gift. Homecomings also often make for great apartment parties, complete with seasonal brews, fancy holiday dresses and new memories.

Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes...
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes…

Lucky for me, I typically stay pretty local for the holidays. For those who don’t, or want to pretend they don’t, the holidays are a fun time to plan a stay-cation. If you’re not game for an overnight adventure (because let’s admit it, while they’re worth it, those hotel pillows can be pretty pricey), spending an entire day, from brunch to nightcaps, is a creative way to explore or spend time with someone special.

Silver white winters that melt into springs...
Silver white winters that melt into springs…

After all of these things, the thing I really love the most during this season, and any season, is when those around me are just as happy and filled with glee as I am. Whether I’m inside or outside, drinking or eating, there are so many ways to have fun and make this “the most wonderful time of the year”.

These are a few of my favorite things.

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

One thought on ““My Favorite Things””

Leave a Reply

