My Latest City Girl Adventures

Baby it's col outside…but never too cold for Emack & Bolio's!
Baby it’s cold outside…but never too cold for Emack & Bolio’s!

The holidays are a busy time for everyone. There’s food to be made and enjoyed, friends to visit with, celebrations to be had and new parts of the city to explore. If you’ve been keeping up with my Twitter, Instagram or Tumblr, you already know that I’ve been enjoying my downtime doing everything from indulging in tasty treats to having some fantastic city girl adventures. Keep reading to find out more!

Holidays are for friends (with bow ties).
Holidays are for friends (with bow ties).

My friends are the best. They live all over the place, are there whenever I need them  and always let me know when I can score a bunch of sweet deals at places like TJ Maxx. I especially enjoy spending time with friends during the holidays because it gives me plenty of time to be festive and catch up with people who might not regularly be around to simply celebrate celebrating. I am always impressed by the people who lift me up just by being a part of my life the other 11 months of the year and I hope they know just how much I love spending time with them even if it’s not as frequent as we would like!

Holidays, hotels, happy girls.
Holidays, hotels, happy girls.

While it hasn’t happened in a while, one of my most favorite things to do is plan a night out with friends and play “Eloise” in a hotel afterwards. I might not have a dog named Weenie but I do like adventures and where better to have on than the greatest city in the world?! Sometimes these mini-vacations require room service, other times its Domino’s pizza but whatever the treat, it’s always a treat to have a sleepover and play in the city!

A festive salad never looked so good!
A festive salad never looked so good!

Eating healthy is hard when it’s the season for Christmas cookies, potato pancakes and hot cocoa. Lucky for you, I’m a huge fan of a simple salad with spinach, sliced strawberries, cranberries and goat cheese. This salad is so simple, sweet and delicious  and it goes great with any balsamic or light vinaigrette. I would even recommend serving this salad to friends as a great starter dish and healthy way to kick off a holiday meal when paired with a great wine, like one from Wicked Wines!

A day shopping or wandering around Cambridge is a day well spent!
A day shopping or wandering around Cambridge is a day well spent!

Getting gifts, or the supplies to make them, is an inevitable part of the holiday season. I’m partial to shopping local and buying unique gifts but sometimes there’s just only one way to get something. For this reason, shopping malls like the Cambridgeside Galleria are an excellent resource. Even if you’re only up for a quick walk and window shopping (or wishing), the grounds of the mall are gorgeous!

Take time to relax and start something new!
Take time to relax and start something new!

And for the days when you have lots of downtime, make sure you take advantage of it. Life is constantly moving but sometimes it’s important to slow down and appreciate the stillness of a “silent night”. One of my favorite indulgences is to light a candle and catch up on a book I’ve told myself over and over to start. What’s next on my list? Check out my list below:

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me (& Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling

Bossypants by Tina Fey

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Sweet Little Lies by Lauren Conrad

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Seasonal truffles are enough to put anyone in the Christmas spirit!
Seasonal truffles are enough to put anyone in the Christmas spirit!

Last but not least, I’ve definitely had my share of holiday treats recently but much like appreciating relaxing days, it’s important to let yourself enjoy the little things whenever you are able. For me this means visiting Godiva chocolate during the holidays, going out on a work night and/ or ordering a sundae even when it’s 20 degrees outside.

How are you enjoying the season? Share your city girl adventures in the comments below, on Facebook or by following me on Instagram. I look forward to hearing about them!

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

One thought on “My Latest City Girl Adventures”

Leave a Reply

