Spring Ahead At Free People

My look for a shopping adventure in the city: Slate shadow blended over peach and lined with dark grey.
My look for a shopping adventure in the city: Slate shadow blended over peach and lined with dark grey.

Last week, I shared a fun event being hosted by fellow blogger Emily who runs Shell Chic’d. She had advertised a styling event at the Free People location in Cambridge, complete with cupcakes and between having an excuse to being in Harvard Square and the sweets, I just couldn’t miss it! Lucky for me, my mom was free and joined me to preview some of the styles that are out now and will likely be very popular during the spring.

Keep reading to find out what we looked at and loved!

Fun, festive and fluffy home deco inspiration!
Fun, festive and fluffy home deco inspiration!

One of the first things I noticed (and loved) were the seasonal decorations that dangled from the walls at the Free People on Church St. Sticks tipped and brush with gold and silver leaf, wrapped in bright yarn and dressed in graduated lengths of d.i.y. pom poms adorned the walls. (I have to admit, they look fun to make and I’m making a mental note to figure out how to assemble one asa holiday decoration next year!)

My mom's favorite piece. (Bracelet: Free People, Ring: Her own collection)
My mom’s favorite piece. (Bracelet: Free People, Ring: Her own collection)

My mom and I spent a significant amount of time inspecting the jewelry. She loved the bracelets, many of which had very interesting chains and beads. I was completely enamored with an ear cuff, something which is totally not my style but was captivating nonetheless. I imagined it being the perfect accessory to summer plaited hair and a night on the town. All of the jewelry was wonderful and could be worn now, while transitioning into warmer weather and throughout the summer.

Some of the lovely pieces we saw for sale.
Some of the lovely pieces we saw for sale.

‘Tis the season for bralettes and crop tops apparently and the styles at Free People have me really excited for warmer weather. Weather you’re pairing them with maxi shorts or high waisted shorts, the fun colors and patterns will be great for everything from roof deck celebrations to music festival events.

Quite possibly the edgiest little piece of jewelry I own.
Quite possibly the edgiest little piece of jewelry I own.

Lastly, I had to pick up a little something for myself and Mom treated me to the little ear cuff I had been coveting. It’s the perfect amount of edgy and dainty and I can’t wait to get my “Jessa” on when I finally get the courage to wear it!

Thanks for hosting such a fantastic event Emily! I look forward to attending many more!

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

2 thoughts on “Spring Ahead At Free People”

  1. You’re the sweetest for writing about this, we totally should have gotten a picture together! I LOVE the ear cuffs too and wish I were cool enough to wear one, and isn’t their decor the best?

    Hope to see you again soon! xo

Leave a Reply

