5 City Girl Adventures You Should Be Having Right Now

It’s hard to be a city-dweller or part-time Bostonian without having had certain experiences. Baseball games at Fenway Park, skating on Frog Pond and $1 oysters are all classic and festive things to do if you’re visiting what I think is the greatest city in the world. But to be a real Bostonian, there are some things you should try if you haven’t already.

Keep reading to find out what adventures I’ve been having in and around the city!

Haymarket on a sunny day.
Haymarket (and Dad) on a sunny day.

Some things money can’t buy. The satisfaction of bargain shopping is one of those things. Fortunately, for things like fresh produce, money can buy happiness and that is precisely where my first adventure comes in. Discovered during my undergrad days, my dad introduced me to Haymarket. “Boston’s centuries-old open air market, offers you the best deals on fresh produce in the historic heart of the city, just steps away from Faneuil Hall Marketplace and the elegant Millennium Bostonian Hotel.” After shopping here, I found that I had access to a wider variety of produce and the ability to spend half as much as I usually do. Open on Fridays and Saturdays, from dawn until dusk, you can stock up on everything from leafy greens and fruits to cheese and fish.

Coffee dates are severely underrated.
Coffee dates are severely underrated.

Because Boston is known as “Beantown”, I feel that coffee dates are the best dates. Even if food is involved (which, in my opinion, can only make it better) there’s nothing better than a handcrafted macchiato to start or end your day. It is for this reason that I highly recommend trying some fun spots for a cup of joe or spot of tea and below are some of my recent favorites:

1369 Coffeehouse, Cambridge// Blue State Coffee, Boston// Diesel Cafe, Somerville// Espresso Love, Boston// True Grounds, Somerville

Wandering through the North End is one of my favorite pastimes.
Wandering through the North End is one of my favorite pastimes.

When people ask me what my favorite city activities are, the list is too long to share. In short, I enjoy limoncello and long walks through the North End. Luckily, those two things go together quite nicely, especially after a nice walk through my favorite neighborhood in all of Boston. The North End, Boston’s oldest residential community, is home to twelve historical landmarks, dozens of restaurants and cafés and quite a few boutiques and novelty shops. In the summer, this area is the most scenic conduit to Charlestown and the Waterfront area, which just means more adventures for me!

Ever wanted to cook a big meal from scratch. Impress your friends and show off how much of a grown-up you are!
Have adventures at home: Throw a dinner party!

For adventures on a budget, one of the best ways to have the time of your life is to throw a dinner party. There are two ways you can do it, both I love. One is to cater it entirely yourself, with wonderful recipes that are both easy and crowd-pleasers. The other way, which is possibly more fun, is to throw a “pot luck”, where every guest brings a dish to share. My own spin on this version is to make sure at least one person is assigned to a category. Beverages, appetizer/ salad, entree and dessert are all common parts of a meal but having fun with it and making it your own is the whole point! (But here’s another idea I love if you’re trying to break from the traditional!)

Any old city adventure will do...
Any old city adventure will do…

In my mission to try and support new things, I am fascinated with the Fort Point Channel area, everywhere from South Station to the area where the Boston Tea Party took place. On a winter day, it’s fun to familiarize with an area I frequent less often. On a summer day, guacamole and corona-ritas at Papagãyo are a fantastic way to kick off a scenic city stroll.

In the end, I am always looking for something fun to do or try and I look forward to seeing what the rest of this chilly weather has in store!

Got an adventure you recommend or know of a place I should explore? Comment below, e-mail me, or comment on A City Girl’s Guide To Life‘s Facebook page. I can’t wait to hear from you!

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

2 thoughts on “5 City Girl Adventures You Should Be Having Right Now”

Leave a Reply

