Top Ten: Beauty Awards 2014

In the spirit of a new awards season, I’d like to share a list of my “fan favorites” for my face, skin, hair et al. Spring is a great reason to stock up on some fool-proof beauty tools to take you into a new season with a fresh face and a fearless look.

Keep reading to find out what (and “who”) I’m wearing each and every day!

There's never been a better time to protect your skin, even it's still hiding under sweaters!
There’s never been a better time to protect your skin, even it’s still hiding under sweaters!

Skin (Cleanser): Liz Earle

A few months back, my monthly Birchbox came with another little blue box everyone should learn to love. Inside was a Cleanse & Polish Hot Cloth Cleanser Starter Kit. Within days, I started experiencing cleaner, softer, brighter skin and for that, I will forever be grateful to Liz Earle.

But don’t just take my word for it! Birchbox says, “This world-renowned two-part skincare system (seriously, it’s won more than 90 beauty awards) has a major cult following. Try it once and you’ll find out why. Not only does it gently remove all traces of dirt, grime, and makeup (yes, even your waterproof, wear-all-day, no-flake mascara and eyeliner), thanks to the ingenious muslin cloth included in this kit, it also sweeps away dulling dead skin cells. Your complexion is left smoothed, soothed and radiant-looking.”

Makeup (Primer): Neutrogena Healthy Skin Primer

I used to think primer was just another product that only the gifted and talented (or the professional make-up enthusiast) swore by. It seemed like a silly investment that couldn’t really make that much of a difference. Well let me tell you, from a girl reformed, once I tried Neutrogena’s Healthy Skin with sunscreen, I was hooked. Primer makes your look last longer, look fresher and when applied after moisturizer, provides for a smooth finish. I love Neutrogena because aside from making my make-up look better, it makes my skin look better too! And who can resist a product with SPF 15?!

Fragrance: Chance Eau de Parfum by Chanel

Some of my best beauty tips have come from people I love and there is no exception when it comes to fragrances. I’ll never forget the time I was introduced to this timeless fragrance by a friend in high school and once I had experienced the scent of true luxury, there was no turning back. Now, I typically ask for a bottle on special occasions because I have decided it is my signature scent.

Try it here for a sample or here for the real thing.

Bath (Shower Gel): Neutrogena Rain Bath

One of the best parts of a long day is a refreshing shower and nothing is better than a shower gel that makes you feel clean and fresh. My Mom got me hooked on this Neutrogena product that does an amazing job at cleaning and softening skin and it comes with a pump for easy distribution onto your favorite loofah or washcloth.

Body (Moisturizer): Jergens Natural Glow Daily Moisturizer

I’m a sucker for a golden glow but as everyone knows, even a natural tan is an indication of sun damage (or at least unsafe sun practices). My trick to maintaining luxurious skin with a teeny tiny tan is applying Jergens Natural Glow Daily Moisturizer (in Medium/ Tan) immediately after hopping out of the show. Unlike other gradual self-tanning lotions, this product doesn’t leave streaks or a strange odor when applied and it’s sun-damage free!

Love is also: giving your hair a break from hot tools, moisturizing daily and wearing SPF.
Love is also: giving your hair a break from hot tools, moisturizing daily and wearing SPF.

Hair (Shampoo): L’Oreal Advanced Haircare Smooth Intense Polishing Shampoo

If the grass is always greener on the other side, my idea of green includes long, soft, manageable hair that doesn’t require a lot of maintenance. With this product, I really can have it all. With just a quarter-sized amount, my hair is shiny and soft post-shower no matter how I style it. While I only use the complimenting conditioner every other day, this shampoo is fantastic for everyone in my family!

Accessory: Bobby pins

What might be one of the most classic hair accessories of all time, made this list for it’s various uses. From pinning back flyways to securing sophisticated buns, I always keep about a half dozen of these handy for emergencies. I recently learned that if you use them wavy side down and cross one over the other, you have a look that will last for hours. For a gilded look, grabbing a set in gold is a great, unexpected touch!

Skin (Eye Serum/ Cream): Darphin

A few years back, I had to kill some time at Bloomingdale’s in NYC. It was there that I truly discovered the importance of eye cream. Now I know you’re thinking that if you can’t see any fine lines or wrinkles, you don’t need to worry about the skin around your eyes but since realizing that the skin around your eyes is some of the thinnest skin (and thus, more vulnerable) it’s important that you keep it protected as early as possible. Darphin products make this possible based on specific concerns about the condition of your skin as so I recommend the whole line. Sure it’s expensive but when you only need a dab to go from drab to fab, your eyes will be thanking you for the investment.

Makeup (Mascara): Better Than Sex by Benefit

Please excuse me for the crass name but Benefit might be onto something with this product. I have had a few favorite mascaras in my lifetime but this one might take home the gold. After a quick curl and application, I have been accused of wearing false lashes so many times I’ve lost count and I really love not needing to worry about retouching my eye make-up. If you’re a fan of Benefit’s They’re Real or Lancôme’s Hypnôse Doll Eyes but have ever thought of switching it up, I promise this product won’t disappoint!

Body (Deodorant): Dove Ultimate Visibly Smooth Antiperspirant

In preparation for the warmer months ahead, I’m always looking for great ways to cheat on my beauty routine without sacrificing anything. This beauty tool became necessary the minute I discovered it. Soft and bare underarms ready for sleeveless season without painful waxing or other laborious hair removal tricks? I’m in! And to think, it can be found at your friendly neighborhood drugstore!

Here are my favorites! What are yours?
In review: Here are my favorites! What are yours?

What are some of your favorite beauty finds? Got a product you recommend to everyone? I want to hear about it! Make sure to comment below, share it with me on Facebook or by sharing it with me on Twitter. I look forward to hearing about your favorites!

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

Leave a Reply

