City Girl Adventures: Spring-Edition

So far, my resolutions about getting more out of life are going swimmingly. From trying new places (like Cheeseboy) and spending quality time at favorite spots (like the Faneuil Hall Marketplace), spring is one of the best times of the year to explore the greatest city in the world. If the weather is behaving, the best ways to find them (and others you might stumble into on the way) is to travel on foot. You can thank me for your Instagram-worthy memories later!

Keep reading to find out where I’ve had some city girl adventures lately!

The Latin Spoon

If only all of my city girl adventures were this photogenic.
If only all of my city girl adventures were this photogenic….

The best part about spring is the more seasonally appropriate (and accessible) food trucks. A colleague and I decided to be spontaneous last week and head down to City Plaza for lunch and tried out this gem of a vendor. We were so impressed! The cone-shaped plantain cones are delicious and great for on-the-go bites and for $9 it was well worth the try!

Moving target, Boston

Kinsale

Just call me a Boston Pub connoisseur.
Just call me a Boston pub connoisseur.

I’d like to blame another one of my colleagues for introducing me to the marvel that is the truffle tater tots. They’re the gateway drug for Irish stout stew and the ever-evolving tap list. I last visited this place for a last-supper of sorts for another staffer and it was both festive and tasty.

2 Center Plaza, Boston

River’s Edge Garden Center

If you have ever dreamed of having a vegetable garden, this should be your first stop.
If you have ever dreamed of having a vegetable garden, this should be your first stop.

Ever since I was a tiny girl, my family has come to this place for everything from herbs to trees. Last weekend, Mom and I picked up a concrete buddha figure for Dad as an Easter surprise that he can display in our shadow garden. So for all of your concrete figurines and magical water garden features, River’s Edge has got you covered.

12 Auburn Street Extension, Framingham

Boston Marathon Finish Line

A sidewalk artist in his natural habitat.
A sidewalk artist in his natural habitat.

There is no where else I’d rather be on Marathon Monday. A year and a week ago, this was the scene of the closest and grisliest tragedy I’ve ever experienced. Of course, I was really lucky to have not actually been here this time last year, but every single person who considers themselves a Bostonian was affected, in some small part, by the events took place and this year they were affected once again by the humanity, strength and sense of community. #BostonStrong

Boylston St., Boston

21st Amendment

Okay, so this is my desk but it's just steps from this fine establishment.
Okay, so this is my desk but it’s just steps from this fine establishment…

Yesterday my parents came to visit me at work. Both my Mom and little brother had never taken a tour of the State House or relished in the tasty food at John Kerry’s favorite pub so clearly that needed to be remedied. It was such a treat to show them where I work everyday and to enjoy a beautiful spring day with them in the city.

150 Bowdoin St., Boston

For more of my adventures, what I love and where I’ve been, follow me on Bloglovin’, Facebook and Foursquare!

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

One thought on “City Girl Adventures: Spring-Edition”

Leave a Reply

