Back On My Feet: Boston Bloggers & BalletFIT

For those of you who know me well, I am a self-proclaimed retired recreational ballerina. I believe that 16-ish years of leotards, convertible tights and leg warmers has earned me that right. However, things may have changed for the better since I attended my first Boston Bloggers event and BalletFIT class this weekend and I have nothing but good things to say about the leap of faith I took in rediscovering a passion.

Keep reading to hear about my class and new workout obsession!

All ready for class!
All ready for class!

Being a Boston-area blogger, I always keep my eyes peeled for fun events that are fresh and fit into my schedule. I was so lucky to have caught a post advertising a vacancy for a class at DanceFIT’s new Natick location and signed up as fast as my fingers would let me! When Sunday came around, I had to keep myself from wearing my leotard and stirrup tights all day. I was just as excited for ballet class as I remember being when I was little!

Meet Gina, the owner of DanceFIT and my brilliant instructor.
Meet Gina, the owner of DanceFIT and my brilliant instructor.

When I arrived at the Natick studio and made my way up the stairs, I was greeted by a room full of friendly and smiling dance enthusiasts. I could tell right away that this wasn’t going to be the kind of ballet I was used to…it was going to be better. Sure enough, after an introduction to the facility and the mission of the program, we made our way into the heated studio, yoga mats and all.

Studio time.
Studio time.

The class I participated was called HOT BalletFit and it can only be described as, “a full barre workout in a 92 degree room”. Focusing on “ballet inspired exercises, like pliés, relevés and attitudes, but also includes high intensity cardio & fitness training. The heat aids in detoxifying the body and stretching & lengthening your muscles.” Water breaks were necessary, even for this experienced dancer, but when there were moments that I felt I had pushed myself to my previously retired limit, I laughed instead of stressed and modified the exercise to still get a good stretch.

And 5, 6, 7, 8...
And 5, 6, 7, 8…

Part of the fun of this class was that technology was encouraged and I’m not just talking about the great music! Two quick water breaks were incorporated into our 55 min. class during which we were encouraged to tweet, Instagram and post #SweatySelfie pictures and spread the #DanceFITWaterBreak/ #BalletFIT love! As a result of this fun social media contest, I won a cozy sweatshirt that I can’t wait to wear to my BalletFIT stretch class tomorrow night!

For more on my adventures as Boston’s F-“It Girl”, make-up reviews and more, make sure to “like” my Facebook page, follow me on Twitter and love my photos on Instagram. And don’t forget to like and follow DanceFIT for their class schedules and to register for class in Brookline, Natick or on-line!

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

7 thoughts on “Back On My Feet: Boston Bloggers & BalletFIT”

Leave a Reply

