Brand Insider: Mary Kay® Influenster VoxBox

As a blogger, I love meeting new people, places and things. From blogger events to social media networks, new experiences are what keep me inspired and motivated. Recently I had the opportunity to try out some Mary Kay®  make-up through my affiliation with Influenster and it has made such a difference to my make-up routine.

Keep reading to find out what products I was lucky to sample and how I wear them best!

Mary Kay®'s packaging game is on point.
Mary Kay®’s packaging game is on point.

Bronzing Powder

Summer is my favorite season so it should come as no surprise that I like to include bronzer in my beauty routine year ’round. It looks best when applied lightly to all the spots the sun usually gets to first like your forehead, cheeks, nose and chin. The key to a good bronze is to contour, or create shadows that define and highlight the best parts of your face like your cheekbones and jaw bone. Mary Kay®’s bronzer is perfect because it is not too shimmery or orange and blends well with blush to create a natural look.

Translucent Loose Powder, Eye Color/ Concealer Brush

It was only recently that I discovered the magic that is loose powder. It sets your look, creates a matte, even finish and is important to carry around for mid-day touch-ups. To use loose powder, you’ll want a fuller brush like Mary Kay®’s Powder Brush to lightly tap product onto a lid or flat service and evenly sweep your face after applying foundation and concealer.

Mineral Cheek Color

The key to a good cheek color is to know whether you like powder or creams better. I happen to prefer powder in soft or golden pink hues just like the sample I got to try out. Once in natural lighting, apply foundation, cover-up and bronzer as you normally would and lightly sweep your blush brush into the product, tapping off any excess. From your cheeks to your ears, sweep blush across the apples of your cheeks, starting out light and applying more as needed.

Does this look like fun or what?!
Does this look like fun or what?!

Cream Eye Color in Apricot Twist

I like to default on a more natural look whenever possible so it’s especially important that I am mindful of my eye make-up as it can define how natural or dramatic the rest of your look is. After gently dabbing on some primer, base or highlighting stick, I like to brush on anywhere from one to three colors from my eyelashes to crease, crease to brow bone and outside corner to center of crease. Apricot Twist is ideal to wear alone or with other warm browns shades and is perfect for simple summer looks.

Lash Love® Mascara

If I had to pick a favorite beauty product it would probably be mascara. There’s nothing more endearing than captivating eyes and the secret to catching someone’s attention are luscious lashes. Mary Kay®’s mascara does just that. After heating my lash curler with my hair dryer for 10 seconds, I gently curl for about 20 seconds on each eye. I then take the mascara wand and lightly comb through the bottom outside corner layer, gently pulling in a back-and-forth motion. I repeat the same motion on the top, while looking straight ahead about two or three times until I get the desired fullness.

Gel Eyeliner with Expandable Brush in Jet Black

I was really excited to try out the Gel Eyeliner after being an eye pencil and liquid liner person for years. The Expandable Brush was perfect for drawing two segments from inner corner to mid-lashes and mid-lashes to a point just beyond beyond the outer corner. The brush tip was so nice and small to draw, connect and then fill in the line with product.

Mary Kay ® by me!
Mary Kay® by me!

NouriShine Plus® Lipgloss in Mango Tango

And last but not least, the hue of the Mango Tango lipgloss is the perfect shade for summer. Whether or not you like wearing reds, this gloss has the perfect amount of color and shine. It’s definitely going to be my go-to color for lip color this season!

If you loved this post or any of the items mentioned above, be sure to follow me and Mary Kay® on Twitter and use the hashtag, #MKGlam. For more new friends, favorite spots and fresh tips, be sure to subscribe on the right, follow me on Facebook and check out my Polyvore.

xo, Vanessa

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes.

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

2 thoughts on “Brand Insider: Mary Kay® Influenster VoxBox”

  1. WOW I didn’t realize that MaryKay partnered with Influenster! So fun! That Mango Tango lip gloss sounds incredible…I’m such a lip gloss girl, so I’m very intrigued. I’m a huge fan of the MK Lash Love mascara, too! I talk about it in my review of their beauty line here…http://cominguprosestheblog.com/beauty-line-review-marykay/
    Do you find that heating your lash curler first makes a big difference? I’ve never thought to try it!

    lovelovelove,
    Erica
    cominguprosestheblog.com

Leave a Reply

