Brand (& Giveaway) I’m Loving: Category 5

If there’s one thing I love more than shopping, it’s shopping local and there’s nothing better than supporting local businesses and brands. Today’s focus is on a locally owned brand you’re going to love just in time for summer.

Meet Category 5.

Boat shoes: Not just for him anymore.
Boat shoes: Not just for him anymore. (Via VentureFizz.com)

Boyfriend chic is about to take on a whole new meaning. Especially the chic part.

A while back, I remember reading an article about a young guy from a couple towns away who began a Kickstarter to fund a brand of boat shoes. I admired the ambitious nature of this endeavor, made a mental list of what I’d start a Kickstarter for and followed them on Facebook and Twitter. Due to some very fortuitous circumstances, I was able to actually connect with with Mr. Jason Shuman and get to know the brand. Needless to say, everything I’ve seen I’ve absolutely loved.

Summertime style.
The epitome of summertime style. (Via The Sorority Secrets)

This is their story:

Finding roots between Cape Cod and Miami, Category 5 was envisioned by a group of 5 best friends in 2010. After years of wearing boat shoes, they recognized the need for a more comfortable and durable option. Determined to maintain the classic design, the group first identified all the problems that they had with traditional boat shoes including the brutal break-in period and short life span. Representing three generations in the shoe industry, Category 5 then tapped into their resources and worked tirelessly to put a modern touch on a traditional piece of footwear.

(Read more here.)

I mean really, can a single piece of jewelry look more ready for a day on the Cape?
I mean really, can a single piece of jewelry look more ready for a day on the Cape? (Via Category 5)

After visiting Category 5’s pop-up shop on Newbury St. on Marathon Monday, I’m excited to be hosting a Rafflecopter giveaway for one of their nautical baubles, the Lace Bracelet in any color of your choice.

Enter here.

Good luck!

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

14 thoughts on “Brand (& Giveaway) I’m Loving: Category 5”

  1. Whoa, loving the nautical jewelry for summer! It’s definitely a come-back trend, and I’m diggin’ every second of it! Crossing my fingers to win this pretty gem.

    My blog currently has a $50 giveaway to Flourish Boutique running…check it out and be sure to enter!

    lovelovelove,
    Erica
    cominguprosestheblog.com

  2. Met this brand at the pop-up shop and fell in love! The women’s pink pair are my favorite 🙂 And oh gosh favorite thing about summer?! I think you hit it on the head– lazy boat shoe days and all things nautical!

Leave a Reply

