City Girl Style: A Profile

As seen on Undergraduate Style!

I work in the city and live in the suburbs. My weekends are spent enjoying cocktails al fresco along urban sidewalks and shopping for fresh produce at open air markets. For me, my wardrobe needs to be comfortable, chic and versatile. From “go to” favorites and unexpected details, keep reading to see what makes up my “city girl” style!

Every day is a fashion show and being a style blogger is a serious business.
Every day is a fashion show and being a style blogger is a serious business.

Keep reading after the jump for my tips for styling some of my go-to looks!

My 9-to-5 “uniform” usually consists of solid colors or prints on neutral backgrounds. I try to balance out the ultra feminine with more understated pieces like pink boyfriend-style chinos & chestnut ankle booties (see above). Pieces in single colors are easier for me to pair together for early mornings and make style strategies like layering much easier to do when I’m on-the-go.
Nothing says classic like black & gold.
Nothing says classic like black & gold. (Via Ali Campbell Photography)
One piece that I find myself turning to over and over again are black flats. This year I added a pair (from Target, see above) with gold chain hardware and a patent cap toe. I love these shoes because they go with everything and gold matches my coloring so well. They’re a fancy addition when I’m wearing more basic pieces and can be worn from 9-to-5 and beyond so easily.
When going basic, I try to spice things up.
When going basic, I try to spice things up. (Via Ali Campbell Photography)
I wear a lot of black. Maybe it’s an East Coast thing, maybe it’s because black is so easy to wear or maybe it’s because it seems like everyone is making fantastic black pieces these days.Whatever the reason, I try really hard to not stock up on too many garments that are too similar. I have this fantastic dolman top with embroidered sleeve insets (see above) that I scored at T.J.Maxx and I love that it’s so unexpected!
My style is sophisticated, feminine and chic.
My style is sophisticated, feminine and chic. (Via Ali Campbell Photography)
For more on my personal style, trends I’m watching and what I’m loving, be sure to subscribe to A City Girl’s Guide to Life, like my page on Facebook and follow me on Twitter!
And don’t forget to vote for A City Girl’s Guide To Life (nominated for Boston’s “Best Fashion Blog”)!

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

2 thoughts on “City Girl Style: A Profile”

Leave a Reply

