City Girl Goes Country: North Conway, NH

If you’ve been following me on Instagram you know that last weekend I ventured up north to New Hampshire for a quick little vacation and a change of scenery.

I LOVE vacations. Lucy, my 1 year old rescue, does NOT love that I love vacations.
I LOVE vacations. Lucy, my 1 year old rescue, does NOT love that I love vacations.

Keep reading for what I did, where I went & how I pack for trips!

When I was little, my family would make an annual journey up to New Hampshire and stay in the cozy little town of North Conway for trips to the general store, pancake breakfasts and visits to the family-friendly theme park that is Story Land. Now that I’m older, the general store is just as magical, I’m still very much a fan of pancakes (and banana bread French Toast because yes, that is a thing.) and while I’m a little over the typical age for Story Land’s target demographic, seeing the White Mountains in person from a train car on the Conway Scenic Railroad is just as magical.

I mustache you a question about this lollipop but I’ll shave it for later.
I mustache you a question about this lollipop but I’ll shave it for later.

For two whole days, I indulged on nachos, onion gratinee, cherry cordial hot chocolate and a few stray snowflakes. This was my first time up in New Hampshire being of legal drinking age too and it was very fun to end the evening with a nightcap with my Dad at the cozy pub in our hotel.

The very definition of vintage.
The very definition of vintage.

But despite having everything a city girl could possibly need for a weekend respite, packing the night before was still a little tricky. (Isn’t it always?) Below is my quick check-list for a chilly weekend away:

1 pr. of underwear +1 for every day you will be away/ 1 bra for every day you are away (incl. 1 strapless, just in case!)/ 2 casual tanks/ 2 sweaters/ 1 pr. of leggings/ 1 pretty top (for a fancier dinner/ night on the town)/ 1 non-blue denim pr. of pants/ 1 casual top/ 2 pr. of jeans/ warm socks/ boots/ comfortable flats/ no-show socks/ 1 bathing suit (in case there’s a hot tub!)/ 1 warm coat/ 1 pr. pajamas/ a hat/ gloves or mittens/ a scarf/ Optional: a sweatshirt (for layering)

Want to really feel like you're getting away? Go back in time with the Conway Scenic Railroad.
Want to really feel like you’re getting away? Go back in time with the Conway Scenic Railroad.

For more on where I’ve been, what I’m loving & where I’m shopping, visit me on Polyvore, Tumblr & Twitter!

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

Leave a Reply

