Who What Wear: Holiday-Edition

In all my years of getting dressed up & celebrating the holidays, this year has been extra festive as I have made some new friends in lots of fun places!

#SipEatShopRepeat
#SipEatShopRepeat

Keep reading to see what it’s like celebrating the holidays as a blogger & to see where I’ve been shopping, sipping & eating!

CambridgeSide Galleria

Drink & be merry!
Drink & be merry!

If you’ve been following my Instagram, you’ve probably made note of the sparkly night I had at the CambridgeSide Galleria mall earlier in the month. Complete with mini bottles of champagne, small bites from California Pizza Kitchen & great swag bags, Boston-area bloggers were treated to a fun night that concluded with a Yankee gift swap and one-night only deals. It was such a great way to kick-off the holiday shopping season & take in the decorations!

Alta Strada

More & more tasty holiday treats!
More & more tasty holiday treats!

Nothing says celebrating the holidays like visiting with old friends and on one particular festive stop, I had the chance to do just that! My friend Doug invited me to stop by his downtown Wellesley restaurant on a night that was chilly & perfect for dining at a cozy bar. The drink I ordered (see above) was refreshing & citrus-y and the salad that followed (Insalata Tricolore) was light and crisp with apples, candied walnuts, pancetta & gorgonzola. I ordered the famous Spicy Chitarra (but just the half portion) which included lobster and shrimp in a tomato sauce and it scored a spot as one of my new favorite comfort dishes!

Linden Square

Tobey Grey has EVERYTHING for the city girl in your life.
Tobey Grey has EVERYTHING for the city girl in your life…and heels for when you try it all on!

Following my night at Alta Strada, I ventured back down Central Street in Wellesley for a tour & some treats at the Linden Square shopping plaza that is more of an outdoor mall of-sorts than your average shopping center. Our first stop was to Roosters where I  successfully shaved a balloon (impressed?) and met the guy who shaved Dr. Phil’s beard on-air a few years back. After quick visits to Salon Maleah (where I was a hair model), Tobey Grey (a new shopping destination I just can’t stop Instagram-ing) & Pure Barre (to name a few), we were treated to a delicious lunch at The Cottage and a complimentary gift from my friends at Impulse by Adamas Fine Jewelry. It was the perfect day for wandering around and I learned that there is so much more to many of the vendors (most I had never been to before) at Linden Square!

Jack’s Abby

This is what the inside of a craft brewery looks like!
This is what the inside of a craft brewery looks like!

Last weekend my parents held a fundraiser at a local brewery and great corporate neighbor, Jack’s Abby. if you’re a Boston-area bar hopper, you’ve likely noticed the pulls at spots like The Haven in Jamaica Plain, The Kirkland Tap & Trotter in Somerville & Clover Food Labs in Haravrd Square. The clever names (see also: Hoponius Union, Boston Steam Pie & trIPL) pull you in and the flavor keeps you coming for more which is why it was the perfect spot to throw a little beer tasting and raise a little dough for a new library in my town. With a turnout of over 100 people, the night was a huge and tasty success!

The Natick Collection

'Tis the season to be shopping!
‘Tis the season to be shopping!

And last but not least, my local shopping mall does a fantastic job at decking the halls…and the stores! This weekend there were carolers, pictures with Santa and sales associates who look like they were either coming from or going to a holiday party (looking at you, trusty salespeople at Madewell & Spanx)!

View more of my adventures here:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

For more on where I’ve been, what I’m gifting & what I’m watching, follow me on Tumblr, Twitter & Bloglovin’.

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

2 thoughts on “Who What Wear: Holiday-Edition”

Leave a Reply

