7 Gifts You Get During the Holidays That You Don’t Even Notice

It’s the most wonderful time of the year. Aside from feasting and tapping into my creative side to give the best gifts I can get my hands on, there’s a lot to enjoy about the holidays, especially the magical gifts that often go overlooked.

It's Christmastime in the city.
It’s Christmastime in the city.

Keep reading for more on my favorite parts of this season!

1. Celebration

This season brings a kind of constant celebration and sense of togetherness that I love.
This season brings a kind of constant celebration and sense of togetherness that I love.

The most obvious part of the holiday season are the festivities that require bubbly drinks, sparkly accessories and strategically placed decorations. I love just about any excuse to recognize special occasions which is why it should come as no surprise that this season is my favorite.

2. Family

Cheers!
Cheers, from me & Dad!

My Dad’s pumpkin pie recipe is unreal. He is the master of the Christmas Day turkey and gravy. My Mom is the coordinator of the feasting and spends nearly a month decorating our house with elves, snowflakes and candles. Everyone has a role in our holiday and at the end of the day, taking it all in with a Christmas movie playing or a fire burning in the fireplace is one of the most magical and peaceful memories I look forward to recreating all year.

3. Friends

Sending lots of love to you & all of your loved ones!
Sending lots of love to you & all of your loved ones!

For the past few years, my work has provided me with more adventures than I can count. I wouldn’t trade them for anything. However, with a schedule like mine, it often makes taking time to see friends (during regular hours) a bit challenging. thankfully, the holidays tend to give me a bit of a reprieve and a chance to slow down and catch up with those who mean the most.

4. Hope

My city looks magical this year. And it will look even better in 2015!
My city looks magical this year. And it will look even better in 2015!

Pretty soon the New Year will be here. I can hardly believe how fast this year has gone by but have a really good feeling about 2015. Resolutions will be made and broken but you never know what you actually accomplished until there’s an opportunity to reflect. The next few days I plan to do just that as well as appreciate the best parts of the past year. (And think of new ways to re-create them in the coming months!)

5. Joy

Holiday memories are the best kind of memories.
Holiday memories are the best kind of memories.

The surprise of a fresh blanket of snow, a kiss at midnight, the feeling you get when someone opens a gift you knew they’d love. All of these things are the best parts of the season and help to provide a glow from memory to memory. I love finding ways to stretch out the season as long as possible for this reason!

6. Peace

Downtown North Conway as seen from the roof of Zeb's General Store.
Downtown North Conway as seen from the roof of Zeb’s General Store.

Later this fall I took a trip up North and even though I had my iPhone handy to capture all the fun that I had, it was wonderful to unplug in a new space. There was no daily routine or buzz I needed to fall in line with, no commitments and lots of hot chocolate. If I could bottle up that restfulness and remind myself of it on the hectic days, that would be the closest I get to feeling the way I do during the holidays.

7. Sleep

Christmas morning aside, this is me most winter mornings.
Christmas morning aside, this is me most winter mornings. (Credit: Pinterest)

Whether its the champagne, Bailey’s or a few good hours outside in the cold, winter sleep is the best kind. When snowstorms brew and rattle the windows, there’s no better feeling than being safe under the covers of flannel sheets and soft blankets with a good book or cup of tea & recharging on a “Silent Night”.

For more on what was on my list to Santa, what I want to whip up this season & where I’ve been, follow me on Bloglovin’, Facebook & Foursquare.

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

3 thoughts on “7 Gifts You Get During the Holidays That You Don’t Even Notice”

Leave a Reply

