“Golden Robes Awards” 2015

I almost cannot even believe it but awards season is back, and with it, some serious red carpet style. But this isn’t your average who-wore-what post-ceremony re-cap. Oh no, today we’re talking about what sartorial superlatives I would give to last night’s attendees of the 72nd Golden Globe Awards with my very own (and first annual) “Golden Robes Awards”.

Who was the fanciest?! Betcha can't pick just one!
Who was the fanciest?! Betcha can’t pick just one! (Photo credit.)

Keep reading for who wore won what with photos of my favorites & how to get your hands on them!

Best Dramatic Outfit: Amal Clooney (née Alamuddin)

Photo credit.
Photo credit.

It has been a big year for Amal which is exactly why I can understand her seemingly very easy choice to select black for such a flashy affair. As classic as black is, Amal’s timeless style required a little flair (see also: her love of wide-brimmed hats) and thus her Old Hollywood-esque white satin gloves and clutch.

Get the look.

Best Original Style: Jennifer Lopez

Photo credit.
Photo credit.

When it comes to awards shows, I think we can all agree that Jennifer hardly ever disappoints. Whether we understand her choices or not, she takes risks (and many times, all of them at once), turns heads and stops the show. This year, a dangerously low-cut neckline and up-to-there slits were her weapons of choice and based on the night-after headlines, I’d say she killed it.

Get the look.

Best Animated Face: Chrissy Teigen

Photo credit.
Photo credit.

As much as I’m sure she wasn’t planning on it, Chrissy Teigen’s “ugly cry” face was the  reaction heard “’round the world” last night as meme’s were inspired by her expression when husband John Legend won for “Best Original Song”. If a smile is your best accessory, Chrissy’s facial response upstaged her Zuhair Murad like she never expected.

Get the look.

Best Supporting Accessory: Naomi Watts

Photo credit.
Photo credit.

Unless it’s a really, really, really special occasion, I don the same jewelry from day to day so when I saw Naomi’s serpent-themed accessory I was seriously impressed. Daring to wear animal-inspired pieces on the red carpet always catches my attention but this blinged-out boa (or whatever species it’s supposed to be), definitely wins awards show accessories for 2015. (You can all go home now.)

Get the look.

Best Comedic Style: Tina Fey

Photo credit.
Photo credit.

Admittedly, many of comedy’s leading ladies scored high in this category but the one who really nailed it was Tina. Everything about her look is glamorous and enhances the sparkle and shine of her success as a comedienne. Black, white, the illusion of an adorned belt and shimmering stones give way to sophisticated upswept hair and classic little black pumps. You go Tina!

Get the look.

Best Supporting Menswear: Eddie Redmayne

Photo credit.
Photo credit.

Eddie Redmayne wore velvet Gucci. That’s almost all I have to say. I think I love the Golden Globes because it’s one of the few events that practically requires a bow tie. I know I love the Golden Globes because it allows for up-and-coming actors to clean up so well to the point where I completely have to rethink all of my celebrity crushes.

Get the look.

Best Miniskirt/ Use of Shorts or Pants: Emma Stone

Photo credit.
Photo credit.

At first look you think, “My gosh, that’s a gorgeous jumpsuit”, and then you realize that not only is Emma Stone wearing separates to an awards show but she’s wearing Lanvin separates with d’orsay heels and a sash. I mean, I aways knew this girl was cool but now I can’t decide what i love more, her paparazzi dodging antics or her wardrobe.

Get the look.

Best Motion Shot on the Red Carpet: Lupita Nyong’o

Photo credit.
Photo credit.

Can someone please do me a favor and check if Lupita is a fairy, a princess or both? This girl seems to never not have the most magical outfit on hand for special occasions and I must have the number for her fairy godmother. And stat.

Get the look.

Best Director of a Fashion Trend: Leslie Mann

Photo credit.
Photo credit.

According to Glamour, yellow is hot for S/S 2015 and Leslie is proof of that. This lemon shade is great in warmer climates, once spring hits on the East Coast or can be muted by swapping out for a mustard hue that compliments various skin tones. Pairing it with unexpected non-neutrals like Leslie’s green earrings or clutch is also an expert move.

Get the look.

Best Nod to Old Hollywood: Jessica Chastain

Photo credit.
Photo credit.

Until I got to the New York Post’s coverage of the 2015 Golden Globes, I couldn’t put my finger on why Jessica’s dress looked so familiar and then it hit me: Marilyn Monroe donned something similar by William Travilla. I’m not sure it gets any more nostalgic than that.

Get the look.

For more on what I’ve been up to in twenty-fit-teen, brands I’m loving & my recent photo shoot with Ali Campbell Photography, follow me on Foursquare, Instagram & Pinterest!

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

3 thoughts on ““Golden Robes Awards” 2015”

Leave a Reply

