The Dress Edit | Winter 2015

As I write this, the wind is blowing outside and making me so very glad that I’m curled up with a warm mug of Trader Joe’s Matcha Green Tea Latte. Afternoons like this are made for cozy drinks, fuzzy socks & a little on-line shopping.

There's "want" and there's "need" and I need this cozy little number in my life.
There’s “want” and there’s “need” and I need this cozy little number in my life. (Buy it here.)

Keep reading for more on what I’m browsing today (for $100 or less) & score some great deals on winter sales!

Aéropostale, $16

You can’t go wrong with a little black dress and a little lace never killed anybody. This has got to be the most inexpensive necessity I have ever seen. Catch it while you can!

Banana Republic, $38

Another LBD I l-o-v-e. Made for flats, boots, heels or whatever you need to throw on, this dress is the quintessential all-in-one and pairs well with almost every accessory I can think of.

Express, $88

More on the casual (dare I say, sporty?) side of things is tho zip-up number that would do well mixed with understated gold accent pieces like earring or bangles. This dress would also fit well in a wardrobe for spring so it’s worth the investment.

Free People, $60

Recently I’ve gotten very into maxi dresses for winter. Obviously you’ll need a good boot or bootie peeking under the hem but I’ve really begun to appreciate the long lines and soft material when all I want to do is jump into another pair of leggings.

J. Crew, $59

Some days (or nights) call for something a little brighter and for that reason this drop-waist frock is a fabulous and flattering addition to your closet.

macy*s, $18

This dress is an absolute steal. The leopard print adds a touch of luxe to a sweater dress that, without it, would still be pretty chic. Like the model, booties and a bright lip are all you really need to rock this look.

Neiman Marcus, $93

Leather, faux or no, is a lot simpler to style than people think. This dress, for example, is of the sheath variety which means it is inevitably flattering and requires very little work to make it look styled. Add a blazer, neutral heels or flats and you’re good to go.

The Limited, $80

I’m a big fan of plum and shirt dresses so this one is a win in my book. The long sleeves add a touch of elegance while the tied-off waist makes it a bit easier to transition from work to after-hours.

Urban Outfitters, $40

If you were ever in need of a cozy dress for after barre class or to pair with a day in leggings and running errands, this is it. Turtleneck. Oversized. Pockets. The end.

White House Black Market, $50

This wrap-style dress is phenomenal with its detailing and side-swept gathering. I love the soft neutral shade and the flattering sleeve length. This dress is just as appropriate  for work as it is to “meet the parents”, girls night or a business trip.

For more on what I’m loving this season, other style inspiration (you can shop) & fitness ideas for the whole year, follow me on Bloglovin’, Facebook & Foursquare.

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

9 thoughts on “The Dress Edit | Winter 2015”

Leave a Reply

