My Favorite: Winter Beauty Fixes

If there’s one thing I hate more than temperatures below freezing and not having a warm cup of hot cocoa in sight, it’s the beauty disasters that are caused by the cold, dry and thankfully seasonal weather.

Despite the damage it can do to your skin, winter doesn't have to be the worst.
Despite the damage it can do to your skin, winter doesn’t have to be the worst.

Keep reading for how I save my hair, skin, nails & everything in between!

Problem: Face

Even sweaty selfies can be flawless in the colder months.
Even sweaty selfies can be flawless in the colder months.

Fix: Per some research on Women’s Health, I learned that winter is the worst for skin cells. Dried out skin cells don’t turnover without a little help. These dead skin cells cause all kinds of problems including, but not limited to, a seriously bummed out you. Drink lots of water by challenging yourself to finish as much water bottles as you can in one day. Load up on omega-3’s like grass-fed beef, edamame and flaxseed oil. Use a milk or creamy cleanser to give your skin the much needed hydration.

Product: Hydropeptide “Face Lift” Advanced Ultra-Light Moisturizer

Problem: Hair

I'm almost embarrassed to point out these split ends.
I’m almost embarrassed to point out these split ends. Ah!

Fix: Until I took matters into my own hands (and by mine I mean the very talented hands of Laura at Bella Sante in Wellesley), I was dealing with every single cold weather hair problem you could imagine. Not even my regular conditioner could save me. At an attempt at a remedy, I added a few drops of hydrating conditioner to the usual stuff and made sure I coated the ends of my hair with Moroccan Oil.

Product: Oribe Curl Gloss Hydration + Hold

Problem: Hands

Put the "cute" in cuticles.
Put the “cute” in cuticles.

Fix: The minute freezing cold temperatures catch us off guard without mittens or gloves, I swear I can hear my fingernail cuticles crying. Hand creams that are without alcohol-based ingredients (see also: fragrance) are the safest bet.

Product: L’Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream

Problem: Lips

It doesn't take an expert to perfect your pout!
It doesn’t take an expert to perfect your pout!

Fix: Staying on top of winter care for every inch of your body can leave some parts neglected. When lips start to peel the best thing to do is exfoliate and layer with the always reliable petroleum jelly. Gently scrub rough skin with your toothbrush to exfoliate and allow the lip therapy to do its magic overnight.

Product: Fresh Sugar Lip Polish

Problem: Skin

Get your glow on.
Get your glow on.

Fix: As a dancer I am no stranger to dry skin. Winter is the worst because a quick recover to a long day (or even a short, cold one) is a toasty warm shower. Milky moisturizers and salve solve dry spots in hard to reach places and lathering them on immediately after a shower is the best time to lock in moisture.

Product: La Mer “The Moisturizing Soft Cream”

For more on where you should go this Valentine’s Week, fun gifts & tips for the single ladies in your life and cozy places I’ve eaten, follow me on Bloglovin’, Facebook & Foursquare.

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

3 thoughts on “My Favorite: Winter Beauty Fixes”

Leave a Reply

