“Tell Yourself You Love It”

It’s been a crazy week but if there was ever an expression I needed to hear as my leg muscles threatened to give way mid-plié, this was it. After all, barre isn’t just for the fitness fanatic or the well-conditioned dancer, it’s for anyone looking for variety and a full body workout. I knew what I was getting myself into but my experience at FlyBarre recently was much more than your average visit to the studio.

I promise you that the workout you get is as fantastic as this hat I received after my class.
I promise you that the workout you get is as fantastic as this hat I received after my class.

Keep reading for more on how I met my new fitness guru Melinda & a new way you can start to love working out again!

Home sweet FlyWheel Sports home.
Home sweet FlyWheel Sports home.

A few weeks back, at a complimentary FlyWheel class in Back Bay, I realized that I had figured out my fitness type. While perched atop a bike hoping my torque score would increase faster I realized that as fun as this intense workout was, I was a dancer through and through. I was aware that FlyWheel Sports is famous for its integration of two of the hottest fitness trends under one roof and wondered whether a FlyBarre studio was on its way to Boston. Well, it turns out the Fly-gods heard my prayers because as of February 19th, 2015, FlyBarre is here!

In case you forgot how cute my new favorite leggings are...
In case you forgot how cute my new favorite leggings are…

As luck would have it, I received an email inviting me to try out the new studio in the Shops at Prudential and replied as fast as I could for a Sunday morning class. The day of, I pulled on my favorite Calvin Klein leggings from Marshalls and drove myself into the city equipped with a bottle of water and my game face. What awaited me was a fantastic class that left my little legs quivering ever so slightly once I stepped off my mat.

Breathe, stretch, shake, let it go.
Breathe, stretch, shake, let it go. (Credit: FlyWheel Sports)

For those of you who are unaware, barre and specifically “FlyBarre“, is “a total body sculpting experience…The high energy and intense full-body workout blends the best of light weight training, dance and core strengthening exercises to systematically target each muscle group through a sequence of focused movements or ‘pulses’. With an emphasis on arm, abdominal, thigh and seat regions, FlyeBarre quickly reshapes the body to create lean, strong and elongated muscles.”

Barre-ista recommendation: Invite friends to join you in class!
Barre-ista recommendation: Invite friends to join you in class! (Credit: FlyWheel Sports)

The best part about FlyBarre is that it’s made for everyone. With 45- and 60-minute class offerings, you can sweat it out with some seriously kickass playlists, get #fitspiration from the energy in the room and “tell yourself you love it” until you completely forget how you used to not make fitness a priority.

For more on seasonal beauty tips, where I’ve been lately and my Valentine’s Day wish list, follow me on Instagram, Lookbook & Pinterest.

And don’t forget to check out FlyWheel Sports for yourself!

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

3 thoughts on ““Tell Yourself You Love It””

Leave a Reply

