welcome to new york.

After a hiatus from the aspiring jet-setter I used to be, I’m currently on my way to The Big Apple to visit my best friend for the holiday weekend.This weekend will be my last as a twenty-five year old so in a way, I guess I’m also celebrating the goodbye party for my quarter-life crisis. (Good riddance!)

“…it’s been waiting for you.” (Photo credit.)

Keep reading for what I packed (into one L.L. Bean tote, aren’t you impressed?!) to celebrate America’s birthday!

If collecting tees from all the places I go is wrong then I don't want to be right.
If collecting tees from all the places I go is wrong then I don’t want to be right. (Photo credit.)

First of all, let’s begin with the basics. You’re going to need one pair of undies for every day you are away (plus 2). Same rule goes for bras but you’ll want one less as bras don’t need to be washed quite as often. For a weekend away, I plan for one set of pajamas (as any “I heart NY” tee can be used as a nightshirt in a pinch).

Shop some of these essentials here.

Dressed to a
Dressed to a “tee”. (Photo credit.)

Next, you’re going to want to plan your outfits based on what you plan to do. My bestie and I are some of the most laid-back city girls you will ever meet and our closets reflect that. I travel with neutral basics that can be mixed and matched as demonstrated by the lightweight black blazer, taupe marled tank, black harem pants, and snakeskin d’orsay flats I wore to the office so I could be plenty comfortable on my four hour (plus) bus ride. With linen tanks, structured shorts and cotton tops, you will be the perfect combination of comfortable and fashionable.

Shop some of these essentials here.

These flip flops were made for walkin'. (Photo credit.)
These flip flops were made for walkin’. (Photo credit.)

When it comes to shoes, comfort over everything. I agree that flip flops are gross, especially for city-wear but if you own a pair of Rainbows or similarly comfortable sandals, I’d be hard pressed to tell you not to wear them. They look good with almost everything, won’t kill your feet and won’t give you a funny ankle tan line as you take in the sights. Other great options include lace-up Keds, Vans, and of course, the ever-stylish Converse.

Shop some of these essentials here.

For more on what I’m wearing, what I’ve been up to lately and where I’ve been, catch me on Bloglovin’, Facebook & Foursquare.

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

3 thoughts on “welcome to new york.”

Leave a Reply

