what I made.

You wake up, pour a cup of coffee, go to work, do stuff. You don’t always realize what you’re creating unless you start out with the intention to do so. It wasn’t until I spent a #selfcareSaturday cozy in bed, in need of a healthy soup that I realized all the creative potential I’ve been tapping into lately.

1610080_2386323977870_23314927_n
Big city, bright lights.

Keep reading for more about my recent adventures in the kitchen & elsewhere.

people.

1521412_2349270211549_411433493_n
Working with friends & political heroes is the absolute best.

Recently I started a new job and there have been a lot of new faces and I don’t just mean in the office. My commute takes me on a new path through Boston which means a new journey on the subway, new faces I pass on the sidewalk and new people to ride the elevator with. Already I feel like a “regular”. At least on the days I remember to get off at the right station…

places.

1901899_2388242945843_2047090937_n

On Friday, when the day was over, two of my (real-life best friends who are also my) colleagues caught up over drinks and bites at a bar across the street. I’ve always thought that I would know I was real professional when I found a local pub to define my own “Happy Hour” at and ladies and gentlemen, I think we have arrived.

things.

12660255_3086530322591_949632446_n
The mother of all breakfasts from Mother Juice.

Also on my adventures to and from work are regular visits to the Boston Public Market. After a tip from a friend and a seemingly insatiable craving for avocado toast, I was inspired to visit Mother Juice, a cute and colorful booth tucked into a corner wall of the newest indoor market on the block. If starting your day with the most delicious gluten-free toast ever decorated and a banana smoothie isn’t the best way to kick off the almost-weekend then I don’t know what is.

food.

12476108_3086532202638_21603058_n
Where cozy meets healthy.

I’ve been pretty go-go-go lately with not a lot of self care. While excited about new things, I really needed to spend today in a soft muscle tank with a few episodes of New Girl on Netflix. That was, until Mom asked me what I wanted for dinner. My answer: Homemade Pho Ga. The result: This.

hack.

1524695_2351454986167_2130897517_n
Beauty time.

Also on my lazy Saturday (after my dance teacher duties, of course), I decided to be extra productive and cross something off my list: clean my make-up brushes. I knew I didn’t have all of the proper supplies so I winged it with these d.i.y. instructions from beauty guru, Michelle Phan. (Try it out and tell me what you think!)

For more on other new things going on in this city girl’s life, some reflections on 2015 and what I’ve been wearing, be sure to follow me on Foursquare, Instagram & LinkedIn.

xo, Vanessa

Published by

Vanessa M. Gatlin

-Blogger, dancer, fashionista -Self proclaimed "political junkie" with a strong interest in international affairs -2011 graduate of Emmanuel College in Boston

Leave a Reply

